1 Comment

In the Toque of Madness – digital protagonist doodles/colour tests

protag practice sketches capture

My lovely partner and I have continued work on this story. In order to practice colour choice, as well as practice sketching in photoshop, and to try and get a feel for the protagonist, I thought I’d do some digital sketches of her in various “tight” colour schemes. We’re using a cartoonier style for this story than for our Post Futurism stuff, and it deals with some bizarre moments and characters, so I’m taking it as a chance to play with some funkier, more vibrant colour schemes. I plan to make some of them border on deranged. These are pretty basic (some would say, primary) but it’s a start. I’m having fun.

You will notice that her face is pretty inconsistent from sketch to sketch. Yes.

I’m pretty fond of her thus far. She has a few visual cues going for her that I don’t often use.

It’s summer, and she’s stuck wearing a toque, so she’s often flushed. She might even be slightly burnt. Her natural hair colour is probably brown, and she bleaches it blonde. The teal bits are pretty faded. I have to remember to keep her eyebrows significantly darker than her hair. When she’s not running away from fighting monsters, she likes to play around with makeup. Coral lipstick is a current favourite. She likes bright colours, bold shapes. I’m certain she went through a few awkward teenage clique phases back in highschool. Her face is somewhat long, but her body’s pretty stocky, sturdy. She’s not too tall. I draw her bottom row of teeth crooked, so that there’s a gap on one side. I’m uncertain of how a toque interacts with a head, as of yet. I am trying to decide if I want the Toque to emote with its eye, and how much mobility to give to the earflaps. My partner has her basic silhouette and appearance down,  so now I’m just faffing about with details. It’s a good exercise.

One comment on “In the Toque of Madness – digital protagonist doodles/colour tests

  1. I wish I could draw… sighs.

Leave a comment